Random thought on pranking…

I don’t like pranks. I never have. I probably never will. Today, I kind of figured out why.

Sometimes, pranking is funny. Sometimes pranks are just dumb things two people who are close do to each other. They’re all in good humor, and no one gets hurt.

Sometimes, though, pranking is bullying. When someone who doesn’t know you that well tries to pull a prank on you, you have absolutely no idea where it’s going to go. Even if it’s someone you know and like and care about, they aren’t always going to know where to draw the line.

And when someone is a bully? “It’s just a simple/harmless/stupid/whathaveyou prank” is the first line of defense. When someone is trying to justify bullying behavior, they’re going to start with something like this. They’re going to fall back on “women aren’t funny” or “feminists hate humor” or “this kid I’m bullying can’t take a joke”. And I don’t like that.

I don’t like that at all.

-Moonzy

Leave a comment